KERALA ELECTRICITY EMPLOYEES' CONFEDERATION INTUC

(Reg. No. 01-14/87 - Aff. 10485)
V.P MARAKKAR SMARAKA MANDIRAM
AMBUJAVILASOM ROAD, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM - 695 001

E-mail: keecintuchq@gmail.com, Web: www.intuckeec.com

PATRON PRESIDENT

K. MURALEEDHARAN M.P K.P DHANAPALAN Ex.M.P Adv. SIBYKUTTY FRANCIS 9447083300 9447303578

GENERAL SECRETARY V.SUDHEER KUMAR 7012655030

No. KEEC/GL/2022/68

Thiruvananthapuram 27.09.2022

To

Sri.Jayaram Ramesh Member of Rajyasabha

Sir,

Sub:- Standing Committee report – withdrawal of Electricity Amendment bill – Reg.

Electricity Act enacted in the in the year 2003. It was the agenda of BJP for privatisation of power sector in India. But they could not achieve their goal of cent percent privatisation and again they introduced Electricity Amendment bill for the speedy work of privatization. The amendment bill 2020 was withdrawn. Now in the last session of Parliament, Central Government placed the amendment bill again before the parliament and the same was objected by our MP's. Because of our strong opposition, they sent the bill to standing committee for obtaining report. It is our (Congress party) victory and we are all proud of that especially to our beloved leader Rahulji. A file regarding the issues of Electricity Amendment bill was submitted by our union to you in February 2021 from Wayanad. Kerala is a state having 99% electrification and all assets under the control of government, and hence public property. When the amendment bill becomes law, it causes privatization and these public assets will go to Adani and Ambani. That will affect the employees and lead to hike in Electricity Charges. The present

cross subsidy, to poor people will be stopped. As an employee union, Kerala

Electricity Employees Confederation (INTUC) in the power sector in Kerala

(Kerala State Electricity Board Limited), we apprehend the security of our

job and also as a consumer, the hike in future charges could not be afforded

by the poor people and the same will affect farmers also.

The Standing committee members in the parliament are

Rajiv Ranjan – Chairman - JDU

Gurjeet Singh INC

Chandrashaker Bellana YSR Cong

A Chellakumar INC

Harsh Dwivedi BJP

Ganathiraviam DMK

Sanjay Jadhav Sivsena

Jai Prakash BJP

Kishan Kapoor BJP

Sunil Kumar Mondal BJP

Hence in this connection we humbly request your good self

To involve in this issue again through the standing committee

members (Future decision of the Central Government may be based on the

report) of the parliament for the withdrawal of the bill or as electricity is in

concurrent list, central may allow State Government to take their own

decision.

Yours faithfully,

K.P Dhanapalan Ex.MP President

-

Adv.Sibykutty Francis
Working President

V.Sudheer Kumar General Secretary